My culinary trysts with the winter veggies…. The Fresh Peas and Raw Banana Pattice

This winter for the first time, I tried my hands at making the eternal classic Gujarati ‘Undhiyu’. I took lot of pleasure in making it with meticulousness and oodles of love with all the traditional veggies and spices going into it along with the “to die for” methi muthiyas. It did turn out to be delicious… I should thank my lucky stars for that actually.

That apart, as a result of shopping for all the crucial vegetable ingredients that are so characteristic to an authentic Undhiyu, I discovered a lot of veggies that I would otherwise absolutely not acknowledge and completely ignore when I visit the vegetable shop. I mean I would never ever have bought fresh pigeon peas (tuvar dal) or raw bananas or a purple yam! I mean no one home would venture into even trying a subzi made from purple yams!! But well, these veggies make the ‘Undhiyu’ so very flavourful and delicious that it is impossible to skip them.

Though I tried to buy all the veggies to precision, I did end up with some left over pigeon peas and couple of raw bananas that could not make their way into the Undhiyu. As I sneaked in the pigeon peas into the Aloo Mutter the other day, I finally came up with an idea to sneak in the Raw Bananas into making some yummy ‘Fresh Peas and Raw Banana Pattice’… They are simple and make a very tasty and healthy evening snack.

To get going you need:

2 Raw Bananas

1 cup Green peas

2-3 medium sized potatoes, boiled

5-6 bread slices

½ tsp turmeric powder

Salt to taste

1 tsp green chilli paste

1 tsp ginger garlic paste

2 tbsp fresh chopped coriander leaves

4 tbsp Oil

½ bowl milk

4 tbsp Roasted Sooji Rawa

 

Boil the Raw bananas, peel them and mash into pulp. Boil and roughly pound the peas. Mash the boiled potatoes. Mix all the three mashes in a large mixing bowl. Soak the bread slices in water, squeeze them hard to remove all the water and add to the bowl. Add the turmeric powder, salt, chilli paste, ginger garlic paste and coriander leaves.

Knead the mixture well to make firm dough.  Heat a frying pan. Drizzle some oil.

34-peas-raw-banana-pattice

Make the dough into mid-sized flattened balls. Dip each ball into the milk, roll into the Sooji Rawa and shallow fry on the frying pan on both sides till golden yellow.

Serve hot with Tomato Ketchup or Imli Chutney.

34-peas-raw-banana-pattice1

Yummmmm…. And I was super glad that my left over Raw Bananas could transform into such a scrumptous Yummy Expression!

Go try it out! Try something new…. Make those “not so welcome” veggies into some delightful treats!

Get going… wish you Yummy Expressions!

34-peas-raw-banana-pattice2

 

Leave a Reply

